Yay for Abnormal!!

whats_wrong_with_me-209

I got a phone call yesterday that made my day. It was my new GP who had called to tell me that my thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) test came back abnormal.

Wait, what? Did I just say that an abnormal medical test made my day?

Yes, I did. When you have fibromyalgia, you can have a ton of symptoms but have every test they throw your way comes back negative. It is incredibly frustrating to have test after test shows nothing.

I should note that I know I have an underactive thyroid. In 2011, I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, an autoimmune disease that can lead to hypothyroidism. However, I have been taking replacement hormones since then, and my levels had been pretty under control since that time.

The past few weeks my fatigue and cold intolerance have been a bit worse than normal, and my high TSH levels could explain the flare in these symptoms. With any luck, adjusting my dose will help reduce the severity of the symptoms (*fingers crossed*).

The cold sensitivity is what I need to be fixed. As I type, I am wearing two pairs of socks, a pair of leggings under my jeans, three layers of shirts, and am wrapped up in a blanket with my warm laptop on my lap. Despite all of that, I feel as though I’m standing outside on a -10-degree day in Chicago with no clothes on.

Frozen Seal

Polar vortex ain’t got nothing on how cold my body can make me feel

Anyway, it is incredibly nice to find something medically recognized and defined that my doctor can provide treatment for.

3 thoughts on “Yay for Abnormal!!

  1. Every time i try to leave a comment on your site it says I cannot. I do not have a wordpress site. Thanks Lesley

    Like

  2. Pingback: Excessive Daytime…ZZZ…Sleepiness | A Girl In Search of Her Spoons

Leave a Reply

Indisposed and Undiagnosed

the invisible illness

jigginabout

It is a puzzle

The Person Next to You

... we're not alone in the journey of life!

A Blog for Archery Coaches

For and About Archery Coaches

Counting My Spoons

Inspired Living with Chronic Illness

