Weight Loss For Better Health

Recently, I moved to California after my husband was offered a job in Silicon Valley. Among other things, this meant having to find all new doctors for my existing conditions as well as some other issues that I’ve meant to get taken care of.

Going to these new physicians, I expected the questions and comments trying to gauge whether depression was the culprit of my health woes. After all, several symptoms of fibromyalgia and Hashimoto’s overlap with symptoms of depression.

What I wasn’t expecting were the comments about my weight.

IMG_0406

I took this picture just today. I am 29 years old, 5’1” tall, and weigh 142 lbs, which according to body mass index (BMI) means I am overweight. To fall within the normal weight BMI range, I should be somewhere between 100 – 132 lbs.

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 1.34.09 PM.png

I don’t know if it is just me but that range seems kind of insane. Assuming that I will be conservative with my exercise to prevent a fibro flare, I would need to confine myself to 1,296 calories/day (practically starvation mode) to lose 1 lb a week.

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 1.29.01 PM.png

To be perfectly honest, I am struggling a little bit with the idea of needing to be in this idealized weight range. On the one hand, my family has a history of diabetes, putting me at greater risk. I have enough health problems as it is, so if I have the opportunity to prevent adding another one to the mix I should take it, right? Yet, on the other hand, a weight of 125 lbs seems too low.

Looking in the mirror before the doctor’s mentioned anything, I was not bothered by my weight. There were many things that I disliked about my body (adult acne, muscle spasms, my crazy inconsistent curly hair) but I was finally at a place where weight wasn’t one of them. Feeling comfortable with my current figure made me question whether I should try to lose any weight at all.

Ultimately, I decided to shed some pounds but aim for a goal weight of 135 lbs while losing 0.5 lbs a week. Figured it would be easier for me to stick with the weight loss plan this way since I wouldn’t have to feel like I was starving myself to achieve the goal. This will also let me not have to stress about exercise to the point that I force myself into overdoing it for the sake of burning a few extra calories. The last thing I need would be to set off a fibro flare that sets me back mentally and physically.

Hopefully, losing some weight will help reduce my snoring (one of the things I was seeing the doctor for and a reason they suggested needing to drop the excess pounds). I am fairly certain I have always snored regardless of my weight but maybe it will be less intense/disruptive at a lower weight and help me get more restorative sleep. Diabetes should also become less of a concern, which will mentally give me some piece of mind.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss For Better Health

  1. You certainly don’t look remotely overweight. I feel like many of the doctors just jump straight to weight and exercise because they don’t have any answers and those are easy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Indisposed and Undiagnosed

the invisible illness

jigginabout

It is a puzzle

The Person Next to You

... we're not alone in the journey of life!

A Blog for Archery Coaches

For and About Archery Coaches

Counting My Spoons

Inspired Living with Chronic Illness

