Aspirations for 2016

The start of a new year is upon us, which means all sorts of posts about resolutions popping up on my Facebook feed. I tried the last few years to have some resolutions but the chaos of grad school, which makes having any life outside of research quite difficult, made it pretty hard to see some of them through.

Now that grad school is complete, and my life has some consistency to it, I figured this is as good a time as any to set some goals for 2016. Here are the things I aspire to achieve before 2017:

1. Learn to swim well enough to complete a few laps of the pool without needing a break. Swimming is not my strong suit since I didn’t get the chance to take lessons growing up. Currently, I can barely make it from one end to the other before getting exhausted. However, time and again I’ve heard how great swimming is for those of us with fibro, so I want to be able to add it to my routine.

2. Practice archery more consistently. I fell in love with archery in 2012, after my hubby took me for a lesson, and never looked back. However, I would sometimes not practice for weeks or months at a time when things got hectic in the lab. My goal is to get some practice in twice a month.

3. Share the “burden”. I have been married to my incredible husband and best friend for 6.5 years. Total we have been together for just about ten years. He has been an incredible support system not only through graduate school but since the onset of my chronic pain. However, I still struggle with sharing my struggles with him. In the back of my mind, I still worry about “complaining” too much about my condition for fear that I will seem weak or needy. He is always reminding me that we are in this together, and he can’t help if I don’t tell him what is going on. I am going to be better at sharing with him how fibro is affecting me.

4. Bring reading back into my life. Before college and graduate school, I was a reading machine. Once I had to start reading science papers all the time, reading for other purposes took a back burner. Fatigue has also made it difficult to read since I am liable to fall asleep quickly any time I sit still for just a few minutes. However, I miss the escape that reading an excellent book can provide, so I am ready to start reading more so I am taking a reading challenge with some of my friends.

920702_1626451044297752_79268176943036961_o

5. Keep up with my blog. There were quite a few periods of silence in my posting last year, which makes me sad. Blogging is rather therapeutic, and it is a wonderful feeling knowing that sharing my story has helped others. My hope is to blog more regularly this year and stay better connected with those of you sharing this journey with me.

Leave a Reply

Indisposed and Undiagnosed

the invisible illness

jigginabout

It is a puzzle

The Person Next to You

... we're not alone in the journey of life!

A Blog for Archery Coaches

For and About Archery Coaches

Counting My Spoons

Inspired Living with Chronic Illness

